OUR HOLIDAY STARTS HERE:
Stage 1: THE AIRPORT
...and boy were we drunk. Myself and Frances that is. Juannine had the wisdom to arrive at the airport sober. I on the other hand had the good sense to go to a party before our 4am check-in with a bottle of vodka and a bottle of cointreau. Plus a few limes and some cranberry juice. I have since heard that I make a mean cosmopolitan but to be honest I can't remember! Here we are in the airport. See how well I capture us on film? Maybe this was taken to compare luggage size? See my itty bitty teeny weeny black case next to juans red mobile? Her clothes need their space. The t-shirts don't get on so well with the shoes you see!

The plane journey is a bit of a blur. We tried to sleep. But the only thing I remember from the trip is an overwhelming need for water. And how far away the air hostesses always seemed to be. Oh that and finding a new friend! Now I'll probably receive a punch or two for this but doesn't Spongebob without the flash look kinda creepy?


Stage 2: AMSTERDAM
What can I say. The first day is still blurry. We arrived in town about 9am. And we still hadn't slept. And some of us were starting to come down from our alcohol buzz. Poor Juannine. To be honest we could have done anything that morning and I'm sure I wouldn't remember it. Finally at the glorious hour of 1pm they let us have our room. Sweet sleep! Mmmmmmmmmzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Cut to three hours later and I dragged us out of our beds for the most important part of our first day. Clare v Kilkenny. Ah poor Clare. And stupid Kilkenny. But that's all in the past now.
That evening we opted for a BOAT TRIP! Fun, eh? On the canal and all! Here are some of the sights from the cruise...



Actually I quite like this one! Please remember we were on the water.



Another good one. THE BOTEL. Geddit? It's a BOAT and a HOTEL! Well its the sign for the botel. It was dark and the boat moved at a really speedy speed.

The following day after a cultural morning at the Van Gogh museum we decided on a slightly less highbrow afternoon at the HEINEKEN BREWERY!

They gave us lessons on how to make beer and didn't believe it when we told them we already knew how! We then explained that we were Irish and suddenly it all made sense.

We came across some unattended beer kegs.

Well what were we supposed to do? Just leave them there...?

We also got to 'play' DJ! and made a dance video and a message one too. And they gave us free beer! Seriously, everyone should pay this place a visit if the chance ever arises.
Later that night Frances COLLAPSED onto the table.

We thought she was dead!
Jeannine was particularly upset. Inconsolable even.

She couldn't hide her sadness.

Frances was not happy with Juans lack of tears.

She eventually forgave her but kissing to make up is taking it one step too far for Jeannine.

Stage 3: BRUGES
Bruges is pretty. Very much so. Pretty streets, pretty buildings, pretty bridges.


However some of their exterior 'design' leaves a lot to be desired.

Oh we had some good beer in Bruges. Good times, I mean good times.



SOME people were bold. (Did you forget I got this one? :p)

We spent a glorious day on our bikes exploring the belgian countryside. Until the thunderstorm came and made us wet. Very wet. EVERYTHING was soaked. Thankfully we didn't have our cameras that day beacuse they probably would never have worked again. Like Frances'. She dropped it into a pint. Sorry sorry, it 'got dropped' into a pint. The pint she was resting it on. To take a photo! It is a sad tale of one of Tontos many camera mishaps.
Bye-bye Bruges. We miss you.

Stage 4: BRUSSELS
Ah Brussels. They have a lot of beer here. Belgium is truly a great country.


Jeannine had one of her 'Dimbo' moments (I say one, she had MANY! But I won't go into them just yet...!) She thought that the 'Guinness' on the glass was spelt incorrectly. Here Frances helps her to spell.

I think the excuse that she doesn't drink it was used in some pathetic attempt to defend herself but we just laughed at her. A lot.
Here is the pretty Jeannine in her retaliatory 'Ethna, have you seen my bruise?' pose.

Its a little peeing boy.

How cute. Maybe. Sadly I was not that impressed with the Manneken Pis. Maybe beacuse I had heard that sometimes they dress him up. As a sailor. Or in some rainclothes. But alas I only got to see him butt naked. Very disappointing. Frances, this one's for you! (She begged me to take a close up! Fun cameras and their lack of ZOOM!)

Frances this one is you! Would you just look where her hand is...!

I was a little sick at this stage of the holiday :(
Just a little note to anyone anywhere who is ever sick whilst on holiday. Never, NEVER ask the barman for a drink that he thinks you might like...! NEVER.

This is some weird concoction with gin (not too bad) grenadine (ok then?) and some peach flavoured beer (Yes, exactly. You have found the fatal flaw in this plan). There may be many ways to describe that 'cocktail'. Mine is YUCK. YUCK. YUCK. But I still drank most of it! With a little help from my friends.

Wooooo. Its the coffin bar. Scary eh? Coffins for tables and skull mugs for drinks. Scary indeed.

Last Day! Already?
WOW. Its the Atomium.


See how little Frances is?
Mini Europe was fun. Oh look, its the Houses of Parliment, La Tour Eiffel and the WedgiePark in the background.

And so our happy tale comes to an end. And we were sad to leave. But full of beer so also content at the same time. Farewell you lands of windmills and beers. Until we meet again.